• Register
  • Help

Topic: Howard Hanson Symphony No. 3, Movement 3 - Revise

Share/Bookmark

Howard Hanson Symphony No. 3, Movement 3 - Revise

I haven't posted anything in forever. Well, it's way past time. I am posting a NEW version of something I worked on years ago. Quick synopsis.

Quite some time ago I did a Wind Ensemble transcription of Howard Hanson's orchestral work Symphony No. 3. It's been finished for a while but it never has had a final edit. For reasons I can't get into right now I am home for a couple of months. In that time I hope to finish everything up and get this to the publisher soon. One thing I have never been able to get is a decent recording even using Finale. I love Finale, but it is, first and foremost a music composition program. With the big help of Randy Bowser and some others, I finally figured out how to use Sonar X1. It took me some time, but was it ever worth it. What a difference! The rendering is so much better.

I am still a grade one amateur with Sonar and still have a long way to go. I learn something new just about every day I use it. The rendering may not be perfect, but it is much better than what I had before. I'm working on the other movements and hope to have them done soon.

Oh, and why did I pick the third movement? No reason. Just because!

Enjoy!

Gary

https://www.box.com/shared/nykxk0o7n0
    Serenity Musician Productions (Gary A.)

Lenovo ThinksStation S30, Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 20 gig ram, 2 terabyte hd., M-Audio Fast Track, Finale25, Sonar Professional

Re: Howard Hanson Symphony No. 3, Movement 3 - Revise

ouch.. please add some reverb to that recording.

it's so dry.

(by the way I love that movement, well, I love the whole symphony)

I really love that movement, and it mover! Nice rhythmic pattern, one time dominating, another time sleeping in the background.

But I agree, it would sound a lot better with some reverb or still better, some Garritan Convolution to add space to your composition.