• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Do you play an instrument in addition to composing?

Share/Bookmark

Do you play an instrument in addition to composing?

Hi,

I would like to know how many composers/sequencers are actively learning to play acoustic instruments. I\'m especially interested in those who have pursued instruments to the point of learning technique not just technicalities.

I have been playing (learning) the bass trombone for two years and have learned a lot that I think aids my compositions. Just curious to know if the amount of time and effort I spend on this instrument also helps composition or would the time be better spent on composing.

Thanks

Re: Do you play an instrument in addition to composing?

I can\'t say it is a requirement, because there are too many people with freak talents in composing and sequencing. However, learning to play an acoustic instrument of any nature will expand your knowledge, understaing, your palette.

Most musical pursuits in a given area will give fringe benefits back to other areas. For example: Learning to play drums makes most piano players have better time and rhythmic sense. People into compositiona and orchestration are better at creating a \"good part\" within a piece, as they have the \"big picture\" point of view. It goes on and on....

Music is a journey. The possible paths are infinite, but they all connect.

I play bassoon and have a degree in double bass performance. I do composition only now though, but learning to play those instruments proved invaluable to me.

Mahler

I think the more musical knowledge you know the better. Sure there are some writers who don\'t play anything, but I believe if they could play something they\'d write all the better.