• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: LFH with Flute Samples - getting an Irish sound

Share/Bookmark

LFH with Flute Samples - getting an Irish sound

Hi, I'm a total newbie here but I hop not to be soon. This is an either or thread I guess.

I want to get the sound of an Irish flute using Garritan in Finale 2012. Here are three ways (there may be others) how you can help
    1. I've been experimenting blindly with Garritan Ambience ( I have no idea what I'm doing). Using this or any free or cheap master effect, how can I make a concert solo flute sound more wooden. I'm not an expert but if I had to be specific, I think I would want more noise in the lower spectrum, but still piercing in the upper spectrum. I guess this applies not only to individual sampled pitches, but in range of the instrument. Either would be fine.

2. I have the Irish Flute from Garritan World Instruments. It is very leaky, as far as (keyless, lol) flutes go. I need to minimize noise at the top of the sample, and minimize the extremely noticeable undertones (I think the most obvious harmonic is an octave below). I find it very frustrating as when replicating Irish ornaments in the upper register where it is at best not crisp, you get strong underlying harmonics trying to do similar ornaments in a register which is even messier. Urgh.

3. I can export the Irish flute's part and recombine it with my string ensemble with Adobe Audition CS6 no prob. Anyone know how I could accomplish situation 1 and/or 2 above in Audition?

I hope I've given you enough to work with and I hope I've convinced you to help me experiment. Also, if you have a different approach to getting a Transverse Irish Flute sound, I'm totally open to it.

PS I am good with software but bad with technical audio language. If a button is labelled, I'll find it, but otherwise...lol

Re: LFH with Flute Samples - getting an Irish sound