• Register
  • Help

Topic: "Pastoral Splendor: Celebrating Rural America," Grade 3 Concert Band

Share/Bookmark

"Pastoral Splendor: Celebrating Rural America," Grade 3 Concert Band

https://www.box.com/s/7a9947c5d5e65ba01410

Here is "Pastoral Splendor: Celebrating Rural America," a Grade 3 theme and variations for concert band.

I've been using Finale for some 10 years. I dabbled with COMB a few years ago and then stopped. Last month I upgraded to COMB2/Aria, and this piece is one of my first efforts.

The instrumentation is all COMB2 except cymbals (Softsynth) and French horn (Finale default bank Plr1). If anyone knows how to get a good clashed cymbal sound, I'd like to know how (not a single cymbal crashed with a stick or mallet--I'm looking for an orchestral or concert band clashed sound, two cymbals clashed). I'd also love to find a good suspended cymbal roll.

The instrumentation is flute, oboe, bassoon, clarinet 1, clarinet 2, bass clarinet, alto saxophone 1, alto saxophone 2, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, trumpet 1, trumpet 2, horn, trombone 1, trombone 2, euphonium, tuba, bells, xylophone, snare drum, bass drum, crash (clashed) cymbals, suspended cymbal, and triangle.

I used Garritan Ambience for this piece.

I would love to hear constructive feedback on this piece--both about the music and about its presentation.

Thanks for listening and commenting.
    Arthur J. Michaels
    https://www.facebook.com/composerarthurjmichaels

Finale 2000 through Finales 25.4 (currently using Finale 25.4)
    Garritan COMB2, GPO4, GPO5, Audacity 2.1.3
    Core i7 860 @ 2.80 GHz, 8.0 GB RAM, Windows 10 Home Premium x64
    Dell 2408 WFP, 1920x1200
    M-Audio Delta Audiophile 2496
    M-Audio AV-40 monitors

Re: "Pastoral Splendor: Celebrating Rural America," Grade 3 Concert Band