• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Daw

Share/Bookmark

Daw

I am not a novice when it comes to music or to Finale. But I am a novice when it comes to selecting and integrating a DAW into my work. From the research I've conducted, I've boiled things down to Reaper, Cubase, or Sonar.

Any suggestions on which DAW to choose? Perhaps the 30-day trials of all? And would it be beneficial to begin with Cubase Elements or Sonar X1 Essential, or is jumping in with both feet a wiser choice?

Thanks.
    Arthur J. Michaels
    https://www.facebook.com/composerarthurjmichaels

Finale 2000 through Finales 25.4 (currently using Finale 25.4)
    Garritan COMB2, GPO4, GPO5, Audacity 2.1.3
    Core i7 860 @ 2.80 GHz, 8.0 GB RAM, Windows 10 Home Premium x64
    Dell 2408 WFP, 1920x1200
    M-Audio Delta Audiophile 2496
    M-Audio AV-40 monitors

Re: Daw

Naturally people will recommend whatever program they're using and are loyal to. I'm a Sonar user - Sad to say I can't as heartily recommend Sonar now as before X1. The best Sonar programs, imho, are no longer available. But even so, natch I'll say try the X1 demo and give it a good try.

But I'm sure you'd probably be just as happy with the other choices you listed. All of these programs are very much the same. You just need basic MIDI tools and audio tools, and all DAW software can provide those.

Randy

Like Randy said, you're going to have to ultimately decide this for yourself; any suggestion might be a tad subjective.

I would definitely check out trial versions of what you're considering. Take it slow and don't jump in right away. Download associated manuals to help answer any questions. (Most DAWs have online help too.)