• Register
  • Help

Topic: Should I get IO just for the "Earth Drums?"

Share/Bookmark

Should I get IO just for the "Earth Drums?"

I am working on a composition that needs the sound of "cinematic" percussion. I have GOP4 as of right now which is wonderful, but I feel as though I need something to augment the sounds such as the earth drums from IO. My only concern is that whatever I write it must be playable by live performers. For example, my best friend and trumpet player heard an "epic percussion" sample called "Godzilla Hits!" from one of my friend's computers. Dan said, "It sounds awesome, but if it's played by an orchestra what would you score it for? Godzilla?" Is it possible to find out what the "earth drums" are from Garritan and should I purchase IO just for them. Whatever I compose, I must be able to score it also. Thank you so very much, my friends.
    ~Rodney

Re: Should I get IO just for the "Earth Drums?"

Well, I am no expert, but I would assume that most of the cinematic percussion we hear in movies is at least partially processed...so its not entirely live anyway. You could still score for the "earth drums," but either you'd have to use the synth drums in the recording or you would just have to use whatever kind of drums the live performers have available.

In any case, I recently purchased IO and I love it, but, I'm a piano player and therefore not familiar with orchestration. It sounds like you are much more experienced in orchestration, so I'm not sure how much of a use you would get out of IO.

Quote Originally Posted by aflocka View Post
    ...You could still score for the "earth drums," but either you'd have to use the synth drums in the recording or you would just have to use whatever kind of drums the live performers have available...