• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Be Thou My Vision

Share/Bookmark

Be Thou My Vision

So, I've never written for guitar before (and it probably shows), but I thought I'd offer this out there anyway. I was asked to arrange "Be Thou My Vision" for Penny Whistle, Violin, and Guitar.

http://soundcloud.com/c-foster-payne/be-thou-my-vision

Re: Be Thou My Vision

I thought you did a good job with the guitar. I'm not familiar with this music but your arrangement sounded fine to me.

Nice Irish music.

Well done!

Phil

Very nice work. I had to boost the volume a good bit though. Can't see the real waveform as soundcloud shows a fake image of one, so I image it would benefit from a very light compression and pushing the output up.
    www.grahamplowman.com
    YouTube Music:
    My Channel
    Twitter:
    @GPComposer
    Facebook:
    Facebook

This is calming to listen to. I like it. Your guitar part sounds fine to me but I wish Garritan would come up with a
    decent sounding nylon string guitar.
    Jay

Thanks, guys. I'll look into the volume issue. I don't often write for small ensembles, but several people in my church have recently asked for some arrangements like this (I have a brass quintet and a tuba duet I'll be working on next). I think working with a limited canvas will be good for me--teach me how to be more efficient in my writing.

Very nice. I think you did a good job with the guitar part - I've played around with trying to get a good guitar sound and it always comes out sounding like a keyboard player.... I do agree with Plowking about the volume. A tuba duet sounds interesting - not an instrument I usually think of being played in a church as a solo, but then I have seen a tuba ensemble play Christmas songs so I know the sound can be beautiful...
    Trent P. McDonald

Quote Originally Posted by jaynkate01 View Post