• Register
  • Help

Topic: "The Beaches of Normandy" concert band arrangement

Share/Bookmark

"The Beaches of Normandy" concert band arrangement

I would appreciate any suggestions on this arrangement for concert band.
    It is a transcription from a full orchestra arrangement of "The Beaches of Normandy," a tribute to D-Day:
    1. Ships Bombard the Shore
    2. Taking the Beach
    3. Tribute to the Fallen
    4. On to the Liberation of Europe

I have limited experience with concert band instruments.
    I removed all strings and added saxes and euphonium.
    Does this look an appropriate arrangement for concert band?
    Thanks a lot for any help you can give.

The MP3 and PDF score are at:
    http://www.4shared.com/dir/df5OGQsN/...l#dir=58323993

Re: "The Beaches of Normandy" concert band arrangement

Hi, Jeff - Concert band arrangements are too rare in The Listening Room. So thanks for posting this one.

Hey - I cannot advise on your question about whether or not the arrangement is appropriate. It sounds really good to me, and from what I could see of the tiny PDF display, it looks like you've used a reasonable number of instruments.

I do hope some people with experience in this field notice your post and respond.

Allow me what I think is a rather urgent note about your MP3. There's distortion almost non-stop throughout the recording, only abating during the few quieter moments. You've driven things up into the red - and digital audio doesn't fare well when that happens.

I think you're using a notation program?--- In its mixer, you need to bring things down and give the output a critical listen on your speakers.