• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Lament for Strings and Harp

Share/Bookmark

Lament for Strings and Harp

Hey guys. This is my first post as I am new to world of Garritan. I noticed that there has been much talk recently on the forum about strings and their limitations and abilities in GPO4. I recently just finished a piece for strings and harp and would love to hear any feedback on both the composition itself and my use of the tools available to yield a (hopefully) convincing and satisfying string sound. The piece itself is simple in nature however I was very satisfied with the end result. The file is a rendered version from finale 2011 and was mixed using the sony acid music studio 8. Thanks for looking.

P.S. The website is BRAND new so I apologize for the lack of content other than the above mentioned piece. more to come soon! And if for some reason this link does not take you directly to the correct place please let me know!

Lament for Strings and Harp by Aaron O'Neal
    http://aarononeal1984.com/Portfolio.php

Thank you.

Aaron
    Last edited by aconeal; 05-10-2011 at 07:07 PM. Reason: spelling
    Aaron C. O'Neal

www.aarononeal1984.com

Re: Lament for Strings and Harp

Hi Aaron,

Welcome to the Forum!

First off, I like the mood of your work as I listen... as far as your strings sound - they are wonderful! I would have to say one of the best renderings in recent days using GPO... As the strings went higher in register they got just a bit "synthy" but not too bad. Nice panning too.. that is also important in recreating realism.

Beautiful music - hope to hear more soon from you.

M
    "...Wiktor's a Jekyll-Hyde personality..." - Lycos Music
    http://www.miserymadebeautiful.com

Hello Aaron,