• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Scoring for Strings

Share/Bookmark

Scoring for Strings

My background is in pop music but I\'d like to score for strings. Can anyone recommend a decent book that covers scoring orchestral music in depth?

Also, does anyone have any advice for programming orchestral music? Favourite sample CD\'s? Useful web links?

Thanks in advance.

Re: Scoring for Strings

The books i\'m studying at the moment (apart from my logic manual!)

Nikolay Rimsky-Korsakov
    Principles of Orchestration

Walter Piston
    Orchestration

and (more modern)
    John Cacavas
    The Art of Writing Music

These cover the \'mechanics\' and to a degree the \'how the hell does he get that sound\'
    type of thing
    But to be honest with you i find listening to
    \'Orchestral\' music (Ravel,Walton,Copeland etc) much more helpful

My old music tutor once said \"if you want to learn about writing for the orchestra, listen to an orchestra\"

Hope this helps

------------------
    The Blob

Hi,

Advanced Orchestra is great starting point, and of course we are all waiting for the GigaStrings.But you can\'t go wrong with AO..and links, try this... http://www.soniccontrol.com/tech/midi/articles/090199/digitalorchestra.shtml
    http://www.soniccontrol.com/tech/midi/articles/120199/feature.shtml

best of luck...

My instructor once told us that to learn orchestral techniques, one should study the scores themselves. I would recommend \"Instrumentally Speaking\" by Robert Russell Bennett. I think that the book is out of print, but many libraries should have a copy.
    Try also studying string quartets. The Dan Dean and x-sample libraries contain solo strings, but would be excellent sounds to start with, then move perhaps to Gigastrings.