• Register
  • Help

Topic: String Quartet using GPO4 - I'd welcome your feedback

Share/Bookmark

String Quartet using GPO4 - I'd welcome your feedback

Hear are mp3s of the movements of a String Quartet I completed last year (links below). They are realized with GPO4 (solo KS strings, Aria Play string quartet preset & Concert Hall 2 effect) - with minor adjustments) and Digital Performer. I took a course on using DP in the spring, so I'm new to audio production. I used some compression on the first three movements, none on the 4th. Also I think I now know how to set up the controls and effects in the Aria Player (the 4th movement sample I completed yesterday, and I'm most happy with that sound at this point). I'd like your feedback on the sound. any suggestions on use of EQ (I didn't use any), compression, etc? I'm not convinced I need any of the DP effects for a good sound (but I'm very willing to learn!). I also had to jack up the Vl. 1 and 2 in the Aria Player Mixer to balance the Viola and Cello.

Movement III is complete. The other movements are the first couple of minutes. Again, any feedback or guidance is appreciated. I would like to create good renditions of my orchestral and chamber works.

http://www.johnnewellmusic.com/mp3s/...wn%2010-10.mp3

http://www.johnnewellmusic.com/mp3s/...and%20grit.mp3

http://www.johnnewellmusic.com/mp3s/...le%2010-27.mp3

http://www.johnnewellmusic.com/mp3s/...%20light.a.mp3

Thanks! John

Re: String Quartet using GPO4 - I'd welcome your feedback

Per your own comments, I'd say by IV. you've gotten to a fairly
    able level of rendering... and avoided the majority of missteps
    most of us make, by then.

I might note perhaps more attention to introducing variances
    on held or repeated material. Long held notes quickly grow
    stale without some dynamic shift (even if small); and repeated
    notes, trills, and so on -- slight changes to durations and
    dynamics help avoid "motor" and "machine gun" effects.