• Register
  • Help

Topic: Up is down - Bowstroke 1 or 2 ?

Share/Bookmark

Up is down - Bowstroke 1 or 2 ?

GPO's bowtrokes are called 1 & 2, it's never clearly pointed out, which direction each one goes!

I suppose nr.1 is up, and nr.2 down, because in a orhestra-performance I always see strings going up->down.

But please shed some light into this, thanks.
    There must be many user's out there not being sure about this.

Re: Up is down - Bowstroke 1 or 2 ?

I'm JUST learning violin, so I could be wrong with this. However, I've noticed that I almost always start with a down bow. I've noticed this with other players as well, so I would assume that 1 is down, and 2 is up.

ok thanks so far.
    Let's see what someone else says

Also, usually the up bow will be slightly louder than a down bow. I'm not sure if that's carried over into the computer, but it might help sort them out.

Quote Originally Posted by Michael135 View Post
    Also, usually the up bow will be slightly louder than a down bow. I'm not sure if that's carried over into the computer, but it might help sort them out.
    I don't play a stringed instrument but, I think the above quote is incorrect,

down bows are more aggressive sounding and usually a tad louder because the hand holding the bow has significantly more leverage against the string when it begins the downstroke.

A down bow is easily distinguished from an up bow, but only if you are intimately familiar with the sound of the two. It is easy to pick out which is which, provided the A/B test between the two is sincere and genuine.

Dan

Right now Im reading The Guide to Midi Orchestration (4th edition) which is really powerful 600 page book, I recommend to everyone, including even some "work" from Garry Garritan.