• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Brass flare in Garritan Personal Orchestra

Share/Bookmark

Brass flare in Garritan Personal Orchestra

I'm a newbie both to Garritan Personal Orchestra and to NorthernSounds, so I apologize if I have put this in the wrong spot.

I am using Garritan Personal Orchestra as a VST plug-in in Sonar Producer 8.5. I guess I have 2 questions, really. First of all, when creating a controller envelope in the track view, I can't see a list of controllers that GPO responds to. I realize this may be more of a Sonar question and I will post this question in the Sonar forum as well. Just thought I'd throw it out there.

More importantly, it seems that with GPO, when I'm inserting brass parts (especially trumpet), the longer notes seem to flare at the end (get louder and brighter). Adjusting the sample length (CC#21) seems to help a bit, and the different patches have more or less of the effect. But I am wondering if there is a controller or technique that I am missing to reduce this effect?

Re: Brass flare in Garritan Personal Orchestra

Hi mkuehlok2,

I don't notice a flair per say, but the timbre does appear to change (or rather, stops changing) wtih long notes because the tone evolution only lasts as long as the player held the note during recording. After that duration (but before the release), a segment is looped if longer notes are needed. I don't find it to be brighter in the examples I just listened to (on the contrary, the later part of the tone generally sounded less brassy-rich and more harmonic), but it could very well be brighter for certain tones. It depends on the segment that was looped.

Maybe there is something else happening that's causing what you hear--we'll wait and see if anyone else knows.
    "If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away." – Henry Thoreau