• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: upgrading for strings library...

Share/Bookmark

upgrading for strings library...

I'm looking for a top of the line strings library and after doing some research, Cinematic Strings caught my eye(mainly because of pricing haha). I read the system specs and it def. seems like I need to upgrade my computer. I have no knowledge of SATA drvies so if anyone could point me to where I can get these or any information I'd really appriciate it. I am also going to post my current system specs so I can get more insight into what I need. I don't need to load all articulations at once or have huge super templates, I just need something that's workable. I'm willing to bounce often if need be.

Windows XP
    system- HP Pavilion 061
    Processor- AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor3800+, MMX, 3DNow(2 cpu)s
    3GB Ram

Re: upgrading for strings library...

SATA (Serial ATA) drives will be of no use to you if your motherboard doesn't have SATA connections. SATA drives are newer than the old IDE drives and are the current standard. If you upgrade your system, you'll be installing SATA rather than IDE. If you Goggle "SATA", you'll find a wealth of specific information.
    Cubase 7.0.3, Wavelab 7.1, Omnisphere, Trilian, Stylus RMX, Symphobia 1 & 2 , all Spitfire libraries, LASS 2, Requiem Pro, Voxos, Superior Drummer 2, Komplete 8, Cinematic Guitars, most EW libraries, Chris Hein Horns, Guitar & Bass, 2.8 GHz Mac Pro, 18 GB RAM, OS 10.6.8, RME Multiface II + HDSP PCIe

Unfortunately, with any "full featured" recent string library you are probably looking at needing to replace your computer. At the very least you will need 4 gigs of ram, and with the higher end libraries, 8 gigs. While some libraries will at least run on your system, perforance would probably be lacking.