• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Audio device

Share/Bookmark

Smile Audio device

Hi to everyone

I'm new to Garritan Steinway as I've just bought the Pro version!

I have a nice Roland HP204 digital piano and I'm going to buy a new PC, but for the moment I will try the software on the current one installing it into a brand new 160GB SSD Intel x25 m G2 (<1 ms of random access to the data!).

Would you please be so kind to suggest me some audio device to check in order to record in high quality? I will record only classical piano pieces but I don't know the procedures/softwares to register.

Again, my piano has MIDI out via USB: is it better to exit via MIDI directly to an Audio device instead of using the USB ports?

Thanks in advance for your suggestions
    Luca

Re: Audio device

When using the Garritan Steinway I use an M-Audio Fast Track Pro USB audio interface. I connect my DP via USB as well. Some say that there may be a slight decrease in latency (a few ms) when using the MIDI ports instead of going USB but I don't consider the 5.4 ms I'm getting to be a problem at all.

Curt

Quote Originally Posted by sazemaster View Post
    Hi to everyone

I'm new to Garritan Steinway as I've just bought the Pro version!

I have a nice Roland HP204 digital piano and I'm going to buy a new PC, but for the moment I will try the software on the current one installing it into a brand new 160GB SSD Intel x25 m G2 (<1 ms of random access to the data!).

Would you please be so kind to suggest me some audio device to check in order to record in high quality? I will record only classical piano pieces but I don't know the procedures/softwares to register.

Again, my piano has MIDI out via USB: is it better to exit via MIDI directly to an Audio device instead of using the USB ports?

Thanks in advance for your suggestions
    Luca
    Hi Sazemaster and welcome,