• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: How do I approach this?

Share/Bookmark

How do I approach this?

I\'m new to this forum. I play guitar and I know how to notate music. I cannot play keyboards worth a damn. I would like to create orchestral music and I am uncertain how to go about it. I do have gigastudio and finale. I assume most of the composers on this forum are accomplished keyboardists, but is it possible to notate music and have it sound somewhat realistic? or should I look into the world of midi guitar to record into a sequencer. Any help would be much appreciated.

Re: How do I approach this?

I use Finale with Gigastudio all the time. I am able to make good recordings. I am not very good at playing the keyborad anymore, so I am glad that there is a program that can notate and play music.

I use a MIDI guitar controller sometimes for sequencing (including orchestral pieces), and I think you\'d find using one to be worthwhile. You should be able to get parts sequenced faster, and with more natural phrasing.

Not that for many of us there\'s any reason not to also develop keyboard skills .......

Snapper, I collaborate with a friend of mine who is a songwriter and guitarist, but can\'t play keyboard at all. He uses a Roland midi pickup on his guitar and does the most amazing sequencing using it. Very realistic piano parts that sound like a jazz pianist, and highly expressive horn lines.

Thankyou, It is very good to hear that non-keyboardists can make realistic compositions with this technology also. I have heard amazing work on this forum and I believe the majority of composers are keyboardists. I think i will approach this with a midi pickup for the guitar instead of pure notation. I think it would be more gratifying that way anyhow. Thanks!