• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Virus Software Recommendations?

Share/Bookmark

Virus Software Recommendations?

Just got a new dual core and will be doing music, video, and internet with it. Any recommendations for virus software that doesn't conflict with Sonar, GVI, Spectrasonics stuff, etc?
    Dave M.

Re: Virus Software Recommendations?

McAfee and Sonar groove pretty well. No issues yet, and I've been running the two side by side for several years now.

OK Mcafee it is. Thanks
    Dave M.

You should really look into "ClamWin" which is free virus software with free download upgrades. We have been using it at our school for quite some time now successfully. I use it in my on line PC. Just Google "ClamWin".
    I have since deleted Norton's from my system with no regret. Just thought I you might be interested.
    Styxx

Definitely stay away from Norton products. They have become bloated and have high CPU usage as well as causing much longer boot and shutdown times. McAfee to me isn't much better - too many hooks in the system.

Jim

All that resident softs (antivirus, firewall, antispam, drive & memory manager, auto-save programs...) are definitively not recommanded for a full-performance/stability music dedicated PC. This combination will never be tested by music editors that consider you don't need them for DAWs !
    You've got a single PC... no worry ! You can have two PC for a little above the price of one. How to achieve this ?
    Place an e-SATA connector at the rear of your computer and insert your hard drive(s) in some external e-SATA rack ; you've just to get another external rack where you will mount another drive for reserved music purposes.
    So, before switching on your PC, you plug in the right rack. No need to install all those antivirus softwares on your music disk that will never be connected to internet.