• Register
  • Help

Topic: List of commonly used articulations?

Share/Bookmark

List of commonly used articulations?

I am quite new to orcestral writing, but have been pop-writing for a number of years, and skilled in both ear training and harmonic principles, theory, and the like. All of that is useless, however, in the light of orchestral lib programming with my main instrument be a guitar rather than a flute or a viola and knowing the various commonly used articulations.

I have Miroslav and noticed how some of the patches seem to be "missing" some of the articulations of, say, the Kirk Hunter libraries (not that this is wrong or "bad" for any reason). I do have some orchestration books but they seem to deal more with dynamics and layering rather than answering instrument-questions like this.

Would anyone know of any sources that list, show, or otherwise describe the most common "usable" articulations of the various orchestral instruments? Not the more arcane or special effect-type ones, only the more commonly used ones.

I am only sorry that my ability to formally study composition is limited by location and family responsibilites and can only rely on guidance of those more skilled like other posters here.

Thank you very much,

- A

Re: List of commonly used articulations?

Hi,

a basic but essential list for string instruments:

legato : means that notes are 'bound' or tied together. With other words they are played without any pause between the notes or with an infinite bow.

staccato : means that notes are 'pushed' or played each for its own with an attack. The bow is scratching the string a little bit for the attack, but the amount of this attack makes a world of difference. Very variable from elegant (think Mozart) to brutal (think action music). Staccato is one word for say ten or twenty variants.

pizzicato : means that the string is not bowed but plucked with one finger like a guitar.

=============================