• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: My 1st SAGE Expander should be...

Share/Bookmark

My 1st SAGE Expander should be...

...?

Metamorphis? Liquid Grooves? These are two that I'm thinking of. I've also thought about Back Beat but, as I am a drummer, straight ahead drums aren't something I have trouble with. Ethno Techno? Any input would be appreciated!

All the very best,

Darren

PS Please don't say "Buy them all" (unless you want to loan me a few bucks 'til payday!)
    www.darrenpasdernick.com
    "Every time you play a wrong note God kills a kitten."

Re: My 1st SAGE Expander should be...

What kind of stuff do you write Darren?

Nick,

I write a lot of different stuff. "Film"ish soundtrack stuff, some orchestral. I also have an alter-ego that writes straight ahead pop songs. I love more eclectic sounding stuff though. Peter Gabriel comes to mind. Listening to the Spectrasonic Sage expander demos makes me realize I would probably not buy Retro Funk or Burning Grooves. I don't know how much of Metamorphosis and Liquid Grooves is tonal in nature. While I know you can alter the pitch with edit groups, I prefer to write my own "notes" over the top if that makes any sense. Hope this helps...

All the very best,

Darren
    www.darrenpasdernick.com

I have all the SAGE expanders bar Metamorphosis, and the one that I find myself using time and time again is Liquid Grooves. It's really top-notch and fits well into a surprisingly wide spectrum of different musical genres.

I second liquid grooves to start with, it is a very diverse and great sounding expander. It has some acoustic kits, electro stuff, ethnic percussion, and it works well in so many places.