• Register
  • Help

Topic: My first creation with EWQLSC - opinions sought!

Share/Bookmark

Talking My first creation with EWQLSC - opinions sought!

Hi all

Finally, after much deliberation, I bought EWQLSC, and as this is my first attempt at creating a mockup with it I would very much appreciate any advice, and or opinions. This is not a flawless version and I am sure I could iron out some bumps, but for a first try I reckon it's not bad. What do you guys think? My biggest concern is that with better speakers there is what seems to be a 'shaking' effect in the voices - not vibrato, more the sound you get when you don't loop something very well. Is this something I have done or is it a part of the library sound?
    The piece is something I wrote for my own (real) choir for a Christmas service - a setting of the words "Dixit Maria". It lasts about 3 minutes.
    Any thoughts would be valued!

The MP3 (and score) is here: http://www.sibeliusmusic.com/cgi-bin...?scoreid=88925

You need to click where it says 'listen to MP3' for it to play.

Cheers

Lloyd

Re: My first creation with EWQLSC - opinions sought!

What a great way to demo a piece that has not yet been sung by live performers! Did you do this within Sibelius or did you export the midi file into a sequencer? Just curious. Great job.

James III
    James G. Eakin III, DMA
    Composer-In-Residence,
    Turtle Creek Chorale
    Assistant Director-Film Scoring program,
    Aspen Music Festival & School
    www.jameseakin.com

Although this sounds like a synthetic choir due to the choppiness of the singing, this is by far the best example I have heard using EWQLSC in a more realistic piece.

I now realize that one must be a choir director or in a choir to understand how to properly layer the (EWQLSC) people such that it sounds like a real choir singing it.

Since I am not involved with choirs in any way, I am stuck with ahhhs and oohhhs and sung words, but not with any realism.

Very nice work!!!

Mike