• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Introducing Myself - Charlie K

Share/Bookmark

Introducing Myself - Charlie K

Hi All:

I wanted to introduce myself.

My name is Charlie Kreitzberg. I'm 59 and live in the Princeton NJ area. My day job is running a usability company -- we design user friendly interfaces for software products. Music is an important part of my life but not my profession.

I started playing piano at 3 years of age and French Horn later. Although I was classically-trained, I shifted to improvisation and popular music. My taste is ecclectic and ranges from classical, early music, blues, rags, broadway and rock. Actually there isn't a lot of music I don't like.

I became interested in MIDI in the 1980's and ran a sequencer on my Apple II computer. Through the years, I acquired more MIDI gear and kept upgrading my Cakewalk for DOS and now have Sonar 6.

I stopped working on MIDI about eight years ago. I think that it was a combination of frustration with the hassle of maintaining the technology and the lack of expressiveness and playability of the synths I owned.

I decided a couple of months ago to get back into composing. I decided to go with a complete virtual studio and not attempt to use the synthsizers I still own.

I've set up a DAW with Sonar 6, GPO, JABB, Strad (all through the recent group buy) and Dimension Pro. I'm figuring out how to get it to work together (not an easy task, I'm finding). Once I have a stable environment, I plan to replace this "interim" DAW with a high end box. I'm thinking of purchasing Komplete + Kore.

For me, time is most critical factor. Not only is my day job extremely demanding but I spend many hours in front of a computer. For this reason, I have little interest in messing around with the technology. I want the computer part to be easy and stable and I want a lot of presets so I can make music in the little time I have available.