• Register
  • Help

Topic: Things I love about Garritan

Share/Bookmark

Things I love about Garritan

First of all, I'm relatively new to the world of Garritan, I've listened to a lot of demos in the past and heard people talk about Garritan products, but when that group buy came around, I just couldn't be left behind!

I've noticed some things that the Garritan sample libraries have that are very practical and useful, and help me as the composer set up the instruments in my DAW with little inconvenience. First of all, the way the various articulations within easy accessibility. One thing that I dislike about other sample libraries is that the articulations are separate soundsets, requiring you to load them in a separate MIDI channel. It's just not practical and not "realistic". JABB lets you use keyswitching and controller changes so that all the articulations are at your fingertips. Not to mention the Stradivari violin, which is a dream come true--the articulations are not only within easy access, but are VERY realistically performable from a MIDI keyboard. I'm very impressed the amount of expression I can get playing the violin through the keyboard. Not to mention it's a very versatile instrument--I can play Jazz stuff in it, and then turn around and play more classical things and in every case, the violin is in its element. I love this versatility as well as the "quality not quantity" attitude which is a contrast to many other sound libraries.

Anyway, a big "thank you" to Mr. Garritan for making sound libraries that are practical, easy to use, and sound darn good!

Re: Things I love about Garritan

Quote Originally Posted by gregjazz
    Anyway, a big "thank you" to Mr. Garritan for making sound libraries that are practical, easy to use, and sound darn good!
    AMEN!

"The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen it to 10 characters"

OK,

AMEN, AMEN, AMEN!