• Register
  • Help

Topic: Thanks for having me NS

Share/Bookmark

Thanks for having me NS

Hello everyone

my name is Jeffrey Leiser. I'm a film composer and have been for 6 years. I used to peruse this forum for free samples (and in fact still do!) and I also used to correspond with Gary Garritan. (I still have an old YFC Competition piece on his site in Nostalgia)

I'm currently going to a school in Burbank (California) called Video Symphony, in the Pro Tools Career program, although I'll probably never teach it. I still used Logic Pro 6 at home to compose on an old, trusty G4.

I'm just looking to meet new and interesting people. I started out doing just electronic music before writing for small scale orchestra. Now I'm back to electronic music, since there is so much you can do in the way of originality, and when mixed with live instruments, amazing things can happen. In fact, I'm always on the search for strange instruments and the people who play them.

If you're interested, there a few songs on www.myspace.com/jeffleiser from various sources, although it ain't much. (I'm a novice web designer so I couldn't figure out how to put one of those streaming players on my website.

I work with my brother mostly as a film composer. Our 2nd feature "Imagination" is basically finished and we're sending it off to film fests (www.albinofawn.com) currently.

If I can help anyone out with my limited technical expertise (especially in the way of how your film compositions get secretly compressed for the DVD of the film and how you can counter that) and anything relating to film sound, I'll be more than happy to divulge.

God bless

~JL

Re: Thanks for having me NS

Hi Jeffrey,

Welcome to the forum! Glad you are here with us. There are a lot of fascinating and talented people here and you are going to fit right in.

All the best,

Gary Garritan

Quote Originally Posted by infinity