• Register
  • Help

Topic: If the CPU is dead ... ? (help diagnose)

Share/Bookmark

If the CPU is dead ... ? (help diagnose)

...will anything on the motherboard ( any fans ) spin?

There's no p.o.s.t. beep and no beep codes happening.
    The fans don't even do that little 1 second jerk that sometimes happens.
    CMOS has been reset with the jumper.

The last symptom that I saw was that the power light on the front of the case
    was blinking but nothing spins.

I've tried 2 different power supplies, 2 different video cards, 3 different sticks of ram,
    all known good components.
    ...all done while it's outside of the case sitting on the antistat bag.

I'm hoping not to have to test this CPU in my other ( exactly the same ) motherboard.

Any thoughts? Thanks,

Re: If the CPU is dead ... ? (help diagnose)

It's very rare for CPU's to go bad. In the 15 years I've been a computer tech I've only run across one bad CPU. Chances are you have a bad motherboard. Tried removing any PCI boards and memory chips one at a time to see if you can get it to boot. Also reseat any connectors.

Jim

Agreed. CPUs have temp sensors these days. If they start to cook, they shut themselves down before being fried. And if they don't overheat, what else would fry it?

I can think of only one other thing: too much voltage, but that would be caused by a bad... motherboard.

Almost certainly it's a motherboard problem, and there is a smaller possibility that the CPU was killed in the process.

Best of luck!