• Register
  • Help

Topic: Mahler 2nd Symphony 1st Movement

Share/Bookmark

Mahler 2nd Symphony 1st Movement

This is my first attempt at any Mahler's symphonic movements...and is also the first piece of Mahler's music I heard.

the file is in 3 parts RARed, please download them all and unrar them.
    part1:http://www.box.net/public/triiu6euyl
    part2:http://www.box.net/public/iene5xg4j0
    part3:http://www.box.net/public/tph8z9x481

Re: Mahler 2nd Symphony 1st Movement

Hi kanazo,

first a warm welcome to this forum.

To our other forum members: It is a bit tedious to download these three parts and unrar it, but I would reccommend you do it or you will really miss something.

Isn't Mahler great? What a piece, what a piece ...

The fact that I start with commenting the music and not the rendering has its reason. The rendering is so fantastic that I was really drawed into the music and not disturbed by synthetic sounds. Yeah the high strings sometimes stick out but when don't they. Individual EQing is the key here. Besides that really fantastic. How long did you work on it and how?

There is quite some clipping though. It is well worth looking at the waveform:

There things begin to get a bit complicated. You want to have your music 'hot' and powerful but not distorted. The ears cheat sometimes depending on your monitoring system quality and your musical engagement - the more engaged you play the less objective you hear. A brickwall limiter helps a lot.

Hannes
    All your strings belong to me!
    www.strings-on-demand.com

hmmm, i worked on for about a bit more than 2 weeks. I actually recorded all parts myself, played on keyboard...its tedious but I prefer doing that than just using notation program. Also I'm not sure how to get rid of distortion...once the music reaches ff or fff the distortion pops up. Perhaps it is because too many parts or polyphony played during tutti passage?