• Register
  • Help

Topic: Any sources for Orchestral MIDI files

Share/Bookmark

Any sources for Orchestral MIDI files

Hi all,
    It's been a long, long, LONG time since I've posted here. I think more than a year easily. I hope everyone has been well.

I've just ordered the Orchestral update of GSt3 and I guess it comes with some new libraries that are more orchestral in nature. As I have no experience in terms of using libraries like this I was wondering if there are any good sites for downloading orchestral MIDI files, and MOST ESPECIALLY MIDI files that work well with these libraries.

Any and all pointers are very welcomed.

Thanks,
    Mark

Re: Any sources for Orchestral MIDI files

www.classicalarchives.com

but these are mostly GM midi files, it takes a lot of work to get plain ole midi to sound good with any orchestral library ...

The address you got is good. The advise is good also, warning you that it will be lot of work to convert general MIDI files to GS3 MIDI. To help you a little, it would be nice to know which is your sequencer program. If you use this forum, and expect to have answers, it is a good idea to include your basic hardware and software list. For now I will assume that you have something like Sonar or Home Studio or Cakewalk as a sequencer.
    In Cakewalk I can have two or more files open at the same time. So, I first would load your GM midi file you downloaded from the archives. I would select all tracks, and would select by filter all controls and delete them. Then I would save this file to replace the original. Make a templete in your sequencer to have a full orchestra, and save it as your default. In GS3, I would create a templete matching the templete in the sequencer, using the VSL 24 bit samples which came with GS3 as much as possible. I suggest you should look into the recently opened thread regarding the most efficient way to set up GigaPulse. Set up GS3 DSP inputs and groups as suggested by Jon Fairhurst.