• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Topic: Let's share our tips to make strings sound good

Share/Bookmark

Let's share our tips to make strings sound good

why not discussing and sharing our tips, mixing or arranging tips, about strings samples ?

Actually i tried to reproduce a short extract from Alan Silvestri's Cast Away soundtrack, let me know your comments : sampled version at first, then original version

http://annecywebtv.free.fr/alan-silv...d-and-real.mp3

I think it sounds good for samples. Still it can be improved. I used EWQLSO platinum on that one, as well as VSL chamber string legato ( violins only )

One of the things i noticed on some orchestral recordings, is that the strings sound close but also far , it's difficult to explain... So i used all the 3 mics position of platinum, i put the close mics higher than the front and same level as surround mics, i'm not an expert at mixing though so it has perhaps too much reverb ? ( due to surround mic )

Also i played a lot with release and attack time , the problem in midi is you can't adjust in real-time the attack and release time with midi controller ( if someone knows how to do that please tell me )
    So i used the write/read automation feature directly in EWQLSO VST :/ to change the attack and release along the track , not very easy i wish i could do that with midi controller

- Orchestration :i used normal sustain patch from platinum, some lyr patchs , and also sordino patchs for the higher notes ( it makes them smooter )
    VSL chamber string = legato-2layers (modulation wheel)

And you ? what are your secrets ? EQs ? using different libraries ? particular reverb ?

I think it's about time to fix that strings issue

Good bye

Re: Let's share our tips to make strings sound good

Hi John,