• Register
  • Help

Topic: How much music do you compose per annum?

Share/Bookmark

How much music do you compose per annum?

Well...

I am struggling at the moment with numerous different projects (5 games to be exact), a PhD and the authoring of a book. I feel that my creativity is slowly fading away, and the more I'm struggling to create something the more BS my creativity gets.

On the other hand of course, from personal experience I know that under pressure (extreme) I can work very well, so I'm not entirely worried. After all it is my fault that I'm so deep...

Anyways my question:

I think that I'm a rather slow composer. I have calculated that I'm composing around one and a half hour of music every year (really approximately though...).

How about you? How about the ultra pros around? How much music can YOU compose per year? How much music does Williams compose (but of course if he's not orchetsrating his music, then it is 1/4 of the work imHo).

Am I crazy to expect to write around 3 hours of music this year (starting from September)?

And of course not all music is the same, not all music takes the same time to compose, and YES, I do spent more time when composing for my PhD, than when composing for computer games.

So hopefully I will stir up some discussions.

(Keep in mind of course that the authoring takes a big part of my time, as well as being here and in other forums)

Re: How much music do you compose per annum?

I compose very little, but some days before dec 31 i change all my music to 60bpm, so i can have brilliant statics about my work...
    Marcelo Colina

A few hours a year I think.

Williams composes about 4 minutes a day I beleive.

PS: You are working on far, far too many projects.

Quote Originally Posted by Marcussen
    PS: You are working on far, far too many projects.
    Each on of them wre opportunities not to be mished I'm afradi... But I know you're right.