• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: GPO + Tracktion

Share/Bookmark

GPO + Tracktion

Hello all,

I'm new to GPO. I just bought a copy, and it is being shipped as I write this.

I use Tracktion as my primary DAW, and I'm wondering about other who use GPO and T2 (or 1) and how they create orchestrations with the two? I will be using GPO to learn about classical orcherstration and also to write parts for pop songs.

I love T2, but what it lacks for me is a proper notation tool. I imagine that OvertureSE might come in handy for this, but I'm wondering about the workflow aspect (i.e., must I continually bounce between Overture and T2)?

Just looking for ideas and such.

I did a search on this forum, and found some enthusiastic Tracktion users. That was cool.

I'm loving this board. What an awesome community. Very impressive.

Cheers,

Fox

Re: GPO + Tracktion

You can start looking the nice GPO and Tracktion Tutorial by Eric Endress.
    Then you can search for old posts with the word "Tracktion" in the forum.

Im using Tracktion 1.6, the free version, and really i like it. But as you said, the lack of notation, even basic, is something annoying. But my workaround is to connect my notation software (the one you like: Overture, Finale, or any other with midi output) to Tracktion trough MidiYoke or Maple virtual drivers (the same way that you connect it to GPOStudio, with the advantage you can add more fx and tweakings to each channel, in GPOStudio, you only can add Ambience Reverb) i can add effects, tweak the volumes, etc in Tracktion. When finished the score, import the file in Tracktion, and the fx and mix balance between volume are there, ready.
    Well, just my way to work. Ideally, i would like to make all my work in a notation package only, but they are not still, and dont know if some day they will, so versatile like a sequencer.
    Marcelo Colina