• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: I am building a new website...

Share/Bookmark

I am building a new website...

...and I would appreciate it if you would visit it and click on a few file names and generally check things out, when you have a spare moment.

Constructing a website is something new for me. It's my first time, so be gentle with me.

I would appreciate your suggestions and guidance. This site is far from being completed. The link is:

http://www.alexandermusic.com

Thanks very much in advance. I really appreciate it.

Regards to all,

Larry Alexander
    Larry G. Alexander
    www.alexandermusic.com

Re: I am building a new website...

OK, but remember (a) you asked, and (b) I'm an internet crumudgeon!

I love the overall look, and the operation. I like the fact that you put your acceptable use clause right up front instead of burying it somewhere in a tiny font footnote.

Kudos too for making a note about downloading files... there are still people out there who don't know the difference between downloading and streaming!

Now some nit picking...

First, lose the intro page. I really dislike those things. Yes, they are catchy, but they do little to enhance the experience, in my experience<G>!

Second, consider your color and font choices carefully. I found it a bit tough to read the home page on my laptop.

Third - well, I'm of mixed feelings on the menus. On the one and I'd recommend collapsing them because there are just two many fields, but on the other hand, it sure made navigation simple! Perhaps meaningful names for each of the music example menu items would solve that problem?

I'd also consider organizing the music in a little more structured hierarchy. That's a lot of pages with a lot of entries (yeah, that's partly me being jealous of your output!!!)

Loved the bio! Short, to the point, wonderful. And the page looks gorgeous, and is easily readable. Probably the nicest looking page so far.