• Register
  • Help

Topic: Question to Peter Roos about true stereo setting

Share/Bookmark

Question Question to Peter Roos about true stereo setting

Peter I read many times your comments in threads about the "True stereo" concept. So you seem to be the man of the situation.

I tried the "true stereo reverb insert" setting in Pristine Space with an IR file. The IR was a stereo file. Should it have a difference if used on true stereo preset instead of normal preset?

Oddly this stereo IR used in each channel within the "true stereo reverb insert" setting appeared to give less stereo characteristic and more telescopic (read more depth) feeling !!! And it's more fluid, clear and rich. Could it be because the samples used are onstage (already panned and instruments positionned) ones ?

Should I give call to my psychologist or my feelings are not wrong ?

Thanks,

SergeD

Re: Question to Peter Roos about true stereo setting

Hey Serge,

Don't worry,

I am actually a psychologist! Trained to do perception research, even...

(but I have been always working in the IT sector).

It is (or should be) simple.

True stereo requires FOUR impulse responses, not two...

Imagine you put two speakers on a stage, representing the sound of the orchestra, in stereo.

Now imagine two ears as mics (yours?) somewhere in the hall.

If you would now want to capture how the full stereo sound arrives at your ears, using the speakers as "orchestra", would a single stereo recording work? Yes if you want to re-record the sound emitted by the speakers. But no, if you want to record, or re-construct, how the signal from the left speaker arrives at each ear, as well as how the signal from the right speaker reaches your ears!

You will need a stereo (or two channel) recording for the left speaker and another stereo recording for the right speaker. Think of this as a matrix, two emitters, two mics.

So true stereo requires two stereo IR's, or four mono IR's.