• Register
  • Help

Topic: Where to begin???

Share/Bookmark

Where to begin???

Hi all!

I was wondering...There seems to be SO many aspects of composition (basic music theory, eat training, counterpoint, harmony, instrumentation, orchestration...) where does someone start? You study the basics first, but then after that where do you go?

I'm just starting out and am a little confused by all of this information, so it would be helpful to know where to begin. I've I have two semesters of theory and ear training done at my college and have several books, but I really don't know where to start, so any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks!

Rob

Re: Where to begin???

Hi

One of the reasons why this on-line course is so great, especially the exercises is because they're encouraging you to experiment. Create your own melody, to see how instruments blend together and their balance, basically what works and what doesn't.

Having the knowledge definitely makes composing easier but not all those that posses it, are good composers. There are many great composers out there who don't know much about music theory but you'd never know it and that's because they're passionate about composing, have a great vision about what they want their music to be but, more importantly their minds are unplugged from a set of written rules.

My suggestion to you is simply to compose and experiment as much as you can treating music theory / orchestration materials only as mere guides somewhere to turn to when you get stuck in your writing and to solve certain problems, otherwise they will dampen your creativity. The greatest music comes from the heart not a book.

Good Luck!

Tom G.

Thanks for the suggestions, but I already know this to some degree. I've been composing music for a very, VERY short time and I'm ready to start improving my craft. I'm just looking for suggestions on were to begin my studies.