• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Cold - Quartal Harmony

Share/Bookmark

Cold - Quartal Harmony

This little experiment was motivated by a web site I'm involved with that presents stories about the myths and superstitions of American coastal towns.

It is also an adventure into quartal harmony (perhaps the best way to harmonize Gregorian Chant) which for me, at least, is difficult to manipulate. In other words, I am learning as I go. For that reason I used a minimal score of four instruments and percussion - Oboe, Clarinet, Horn and Basson, with tam-tam and cymbol.

All input is appreciated.

www.mediatyrosean.com/cold.mp3

Tom
    Seattle, Washington
    August 3, 2006
    Last edited by Tom_Davis; 08-03-2006 at 07:00 PM. Reason: url correction

Re: Cold - Quartal Harmony

Tom,

I am not familiar with the term quartal harmony. As a guitarist, I work a lot in modes... which I thought were the basis for gregorian chant. Mind you, I am self taught, so my grasp of terminology in shaky at best. Anyway, as long as you stick with the mode you are in... you can still do all the normal harmonies in 3rds or 6ths... Perhaps not in 6th's, as for that time 6th's were a bit weird to the ear. Anyway, for us they sound fine.

Your peice, while not having that chant-esque sound, was really sweet. I liked it quite a bit!! If you could explain quartal harmony to me, then that would be great!!

Thanks for sharing,
    Paul

Prowland the posting Ninja

Quote Originally Posted by Tom_Davis
    This little experiment was motivated by a web site I'm involved with that presents stories about the myths and superstitions of
    .............snip................
    www.mediatyrosean.com/cold.mp3

Tom
    Seattle, Washington
    August 3, 2006
    Tom,

That is some pretty heavy sound you have there. It certainly does reflect the notion of myths and superstition. Nice rendering with minimal instrumentation.

Gary

www.garybricault.com

Quote Originally Posted by Prowland