• Register
  • Help

Topic: Group Volume control KSP

Share/Bookmark

Group Volume control KSP

Hi all!!

I'm new to kontakt and am building my first script. I want to have a volume and fine tune control to adjust each of the groups in my instrument. I can see how to make the knobs appear and I've read the tutorials but I can't find how to assign a group to a control. Could some one please give me a clue. I've been looking round for similar existing scripts dealing with groups to learn from but I can't find anything remotely similar. Can anyone point me in the right direction please.
    Any help appreciated
    EV

Re: Group Volume control KSP

Thanks for replying.

I want to make each group go up and down in volume from a knob, and fine tune each group with another knob.
    (I'm planning to layer a group of zones mapped on top of another group of zones so they both play at the same time, and use the Script Ed to mix and detune them from each other.)

There are different ways to accomplishing this. Either you detect which group each note belongs to (using %GROUPS_AFFECTED) and adjust the volume with the change_vol function for each note event. Unfortunately that won't automatically change the volume of release samples, so if there are any release trigger groups one has to change the volume of these in the script which sometimes can be a bit tricky.

Or, you could use the set_engine_param to change the Volume knob of the group (in the Amplifier section). The volume scale is a little tricky, so it might be easier to setup a CC-modulation of the volume (if you want fine-tuning you could also setup a rescaling) and then use set_controller from within the script to control it - that might be the easiest way. I hope this helps.

Hey thanks very much. I have no release issues. This is a very simple instrument. I will read some more and see if I can figure it out.

Quote Originally Posted by Lovechld2000