• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Topic: Divisi staves in Finale, how do you do it?

Share/Bookmark
  1. #1
    Senior Member Leaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,797

    Divisi staves in Finale, how do you do it?

    I made a Flute divisi stave of two Flutes, but could not get Clarinets or Violins to let me put more than one instrument on a stave, can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?


    And to give labels like div. and trem. do you just use the text tool and then position as needed?


    David

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    235

    Re: Divisi staves in Finale, how do you do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by Leaf
    I made a Flute divisi stave of two Flutes, but could not get Clarinets or Violins to let me put more than one instrument on a stave, can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?


    And to give labels like div. and trem. do you just use the text tool and then position as needed?


    David
    Not sure about the divisi but never use the text tool for anything but Title, composer and copyright. Text is tied to the page, not a musical event. Therefore when your music shifts the text stays in the same spot on the page! Create your own expression markings for the text you need. I tend to use Note expressions more than Measure expressions because it allows me place the expression over the exact spot in the measure that I want.

    The divisi may have to do with monophonic versus polyphonic mode. Not sure.

    Regards,

    Christiaan

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    245

    Smile Re: Divisi staves in Finale, how do you do it?

    I believe that you can accomplish this using the layers in Finale. I 'm pretty sure that you can assign different instruments to e.g. layer 2 of staff 1. Layers also alow you to put two independent lines of music on one staff.

    David M.

  4. #4

    Re: Divisi staves in Finale, how do you do it?

    To write divisi parts, use a separate layer for each line. And apply the text "div." as a text expression. Human Playback will recognize this.

  5. #5

    Re: Divisi staves in Finale, how do you do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by Nickie Fønshauge
    To write divisi parts, use a separate layer for each line. And apply the text "div." as a text expression. Human Playback will recognize this.
    I'm curious, what exactly will HP do to "recognize" a divisi indication?
    it seems to me there's nothing for HP to "interpret" in a divisi marking.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Leaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,797

    Re: Divisi staves in Finale, how do you do it?

    Thanks very much for your help everyone.


    So that's what Layers are good for.

    Best Regards,
    David

  7. #7
    Senior Member Leaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,797

    Re: Divisi staves in Finale, how do you do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by qccowboy
    I'm curious, what exactly will HP do to "recognize" a divisi indication?
    it seems to me there's nothing for HP to "interpret" in a divisi marking.
    That does seem a lttle odd doesn't it, if there was something already there for recognizing the text .div, wouldn't .div be listed in the expressions or someplace? Are you saying there would be no need for interpretation just as long as playback recognizes and plays all the notes on the stave? That's all it would need to do, right?

  8. #8
    Senior Member Leaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,797

    Re: Divisi staves in Finale, how do you do it?

    Guess I should spend more time reading the manual and stuff, maybe you can give different players to each layer.

  9. #9

    Re: Divisi staves in Finale, how do you do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by Leaf
    Guess I should spend more time reading the manual and stuff, maybe you can give different players to each layer.
    yes you can assign different channels to each layer of a staff, however, a word of caution: HumanPlayback doesn't seem to react well to material that is anywhere other than on layer 1.

  10. #10

    Re: Divisi staves in Finale, how do you do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by qccowboy
    I'm curious, what exactly will HP do to "recognize" a divisi indication?
    it seems to me there's nothing for HP to "interpret" in a divisi marking.
    My bad I was sure, I had seen it in the Human Playback Dictionary. I just checked, and it is not there. And you're right, there doesn't seem to be much to interpret anyway. But, you never know with Finale.

Go Back to forum

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •