• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Topic: Full Version Not Appearing in Finale

Share/Bookmark
  1. #1

    Full Version Not Appearing in Finale

    Hi everyone.
    I just purchased Finale 2006 as well as the separate, full version of GPO. When I access the GPO Kontakt player from within Finale, I only have access to the sounds that come with the limited GPO version contained within Finale. When I load in the standalone Kontakt Player from the "Start" menu, however, all the new sounds appear. I just can't use them from within Finale, and that, of course, is the point. Any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

  2. #2

    Re: Full Version Not Appearing in Finale

    1. Start up GPO Studio and load up the instruments you want
    2. Start up Finale and create a score
    3. Next to each staff, you should see something that looks like a small control panel. For example, I put in a piano. I then click where it would say Acoustic Grand Piano and then hit MIDI Setup
    4. Under MIDI Out, choose the device for your instrument (GPO Studio: x) and the channel (1-8 typically). This must correspond to your instrument's position in GPO Studio.

    Note, I am a Sibelius user here. Yet, I do have the Finale 2006 demo, I just prefer Sibelius 4.1 because of its workflow. I want to take a look at Notion though sometime...
    Colton J. Provias
    Film Score Composer, Location Sound Mixer, and Sound Editor
    Full-stack Web Developer

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    NW Illinois
    Posts
    1,175

    Re: Full Version Not Appearing in Finale

    Jonfox,

    I answered your question on the Finale forum. Check there.

    CJ's advice will work if you want to use GPO Studio, but I don't think that's what you're asking about.

    JT

  4. #4

    Re: Full Version Not Appearing in Finale

    Thanks, all!

    CJ Pro and JT!

  5. #5
    Senior Member Leaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,797

    Re: Full Version Not Appearing in Finale

    I could not find that at Finale forum. Can you post a copy here for the benifit of Garritan members... particularly me.

    Best Regards
    David

  6. #6

    Re: Full Version Not Appearing in Finale

    Quote Originally Posted by Leaf
    I could not find that at Finale forum. Can you post a copy here for the benifit of Garritan members... particularly me.

    Best Regards
    David
    Hello David,

    Have you copied the PersonalOrchestraVST.dll into the Finale Programs Folder?

    I have a post with detailed information and screenshots on how to set up Finale 2006 with GPO.

    You can find the info here: http://www.northernsounds.com/forum/...8&postcount=12
    Michael
    Patience is a virtue, sensitivity is a gift

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Lincoln City, Oregon
    Posts
    194

    Re: Full Version Not Appearing in Finale

    Where do I find the "Notation Version"?

    Thanks,
    Tom

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    NW Illinois
    Posts
    1,175

    Re: Full Version Not Appearing in Finale

    Quote Originally Posted by TomcatII
    Where do I find the "Notation Version"?

    Thanks,
    Tom
    Do a custom install of the latest GPO update, you'll find it there.

    JT

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Lincoln City, Oregon
    Posts
    194

    Re: Full Version Not Appearing in Finale

    OK, I got it installed, so now, is this what I'm supposed to put in the Finale VST folder? When I look under the Instrument heading in GPO along with the brass, woodwind, etc. folders there is one labled Notation; is this folder the one I need to move to the Finale VST folder in order to use GPO with Finale 2006c?

    Thanks,
    Tom

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    NW Illinois
    Posts
    1,175

    Re: Full Version Not Appearing in Finale

    Tom,

    No, don't move the notation folder. I'm on a Mac and it just worked for me. If after running this install, use Finale's setup wizard to create a score. See if the full version of GPO is listed as a choice along with Finale GPO.

    If not, try what Michael said. "copy the PersonalOrchestraVST.dll into the Finale Programs Folder".

    Hopefully a windows user will help out here.

    Jeff

Go Back to forum

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •