• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: A warning to Waves plugin owners

Share/Bookmark

A warning to Waves plugin owners

I'm posting this so that others will at least be better prepared than I was should they encounter a need to reauthorize thier Waves products due to a hard disk crash, as I've recently experienced.

I've been running Waves plugins for a couple of years now with hard disk authorization, i.e. I don't own an iLok USB dongle. After getting my machine back together and reinstalled yesterday, I went to reauthorize my Waves stuff. I was informed on their web site that hard disk authorization was no longer supported. Not only did I need to spend $40 for an iLok, but I'd also have to renew my Waves Upgrade Plan (WUP) to be able to transfer my licenses to the iLok.

A phone call to them this morning was little more than a brick wall. So, here's what I'm looking at:
    1. I paid serious money for Waves products
    2. I've used them with HD auth for two years
    3. My hard drive crashed
    4. Waves has informed me that I cannot use their product anymore unless I pay more money
    To continue to use the product I've already purchased, I must now:
    1. Pay $40 + shipping for an iLok
    2. Pay $189 to renew the WUP so that I can transfer my licenses to iLok
    3. Make yet another call afterwards to get instructions on how to do this.
    And so, I post this warning to all who own Waves products. If your plugins currently use hard disk authorization, run, do not walk, to your nearest retailer and buy an iLok, hopefully before your WUP expires. Immediately transfer your licenses to the iLok. If you fail to do this and your hard drive crashes, you will not be able to use your Waves products when you restore your system. At least not until you cough up more money for something you've already paid for.