• Register
  • Help

Topic: GPO & Notation

Share/Bookmark

GPO & Notation

In order to use my full GPO with Sibelius I apparently have to buy a $49 adapter that let's me do this; do I also have to buy something extra in order to use my full GPO with Finale?

Thanks,
    Tom

Re: GPO & Notation

I have the full version of GPO. I also have Sibelius. They work together. You can use GPO with Sibelius without an adapter, or add on. I do so, not often, because for sequencing I prefer Sonar, and Sibelius is strictly notational software in my usage. The GPO/Sibelius package should provide a smoother interface, more control. I have no experience with Finale in this regard, but I expect it would be similar.

Richard

Quote Originally Posted by TomcatII
    In order to use my full GPO with Sibelius I apparently have to buy a $49 adapter that let's me do this; do I also have to buy something extra in order to use my full GPO with Finale?

Thanks,
    Tom
    Tom,
    Which version of Fin and Sib do you have?
    The method of interfacing GPO with either program depends on the version of the program, but NEITHER program requires a costly addon for any recent version.

If you have the latest Sib (4?) and Finale 2006, nothing is requires--those work directly with GPO.

Earlier editions of Fin and Sib can interface with GPO via GPO studio, which is available here for FREE.

Jim
    Jim Williams
    Professor of Capitalism
    N9EJR
    Indianapolis Brass Choir
    All Your Bass Sus&Short Are Belong to Us.

No, you can use GPO as a VSTi plugin in Finale 2006 without any further acquisitions. It works great that way with Finale's Human Playback.

Jim, according to Sibelius.com, there is a GPO Sibelius Edition crossgrade available to GPO Standalone and Sibelius 4.1 users. I would imagine this is necessary, before you can talk about integration the same way as Finale 2006's VSTi integration. Is this correct, or ...?

I have Sibelius 4.1 and Finale 2006c.