• Register
  • Help

Topic: Which VI Strings First?

Share/Bookmark

Which VI Strings First?

I have EWQLSO Gold and I want to upgrade my strings to VI, but I don't know whether to get Chamber Strings or Orchestral Strings first. I'll be using them for general purpose soundtrack work.

I can only afford one of them - what's the best choice for general purpose? I'd think that Orchestral would be, but then I was reading some posts how Chamber strings are good for dividing up the sections for chords and such, to keep them from getting too thick. I'm a beginner, so not sure if that kind of thing is a bit advanced for me right now. I just never get comfortable playing the EW Gold strings and from what I read VI's the best way to go.

Any suggestions are much appreciated.

Also: can you purchase VI anywhere besides the ILIO site?

Thanks!!!

Andy

Re: Which VI Strings First?

Orchestra Strings 1 is only Violins and Violas, so it is more limited that way and twice the price to have all 4 sections. I was in the same boat as you so I bought the Chamber Strings and when I want a more lush soundm I triple the tracks and transpose one of them up and one of them down and use the pitch wheel to bring them into unison. This way you are not triggering the same sample and getting phasing. It worked beautifully and it's very little work.

So in essence, you can have BOTH for the price of the Chamber Strings. Plus, more flexibility in the sound you want. My opinion is, when you can, spend the money on the Solo Strings, they are fantastic and great layered with the Chamber.

Just to add, the Chamber Strings sound great on Pop/R&B/Rock tunes.

Have fun!

Quote Originally Posted by mattdean
    the Chamber Strings sound great on Pop/R&B/Rock tunes.
    Got any samples in this context?

Quote Originally Posted by mattdean
    ...when I want a more lush soundm I triple the tracks and transpose one of them up and one of them down and use the pitch wheel to bring them into unison.