• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Overlays

Share/Bookmark

Overlays

I see in the French Horns that there are three separate overlays- overlay f, overlay f ag, and overlay ff. Could someone explain to me how overlays are used and the meaning of the letters after the word overlay (f, f ag, ff) Perhaps forte, double forte?). Thank you very much.

Re: Overlays

Well, the meaning of the terms is obvious: f -> "forte" overlay, ff-> "fortissimo" overlay and f ag -> "forte" aggresive overlay. The idea is that when french horns (and other instruments) change their volume they change also their "colour". For example, a french horn playing piano would sound "sweet" but playing fortissimo its sound would be more "metallic".
    If I'm right, overlays are intended to use in combination with normal samples when you want to achieve those "metallic" sounds. So you'll probably need 2 french horns (normal and overlay) per voice.
    Anyway I'm not an expert at all, but there are many on this forum. I'm sure they can give you a better explanation.

Greetings

Well, Coriolano pretty much nailed it. When I'm recording horns I have a regular player and an f ag, and ff overlay for each player. You just have to be careful to avoid phase cancellation. Hopefully GPO-A will have enough overlays to cover all the horn players.

The only problem with the overlays is that if you use the random intonation function of the horns it will be potentially out of tune with the overlay. Still, they are very useful.

What I tend to do is to have a seperate solo instrument for each of the four horns, then one additional polyphonic track with the forte overlay. I only use this track for parts where I need a nice brassy sound, for example, a sustained forte chord for full brass. I tend to mix the overlay back to about half the volume of the horns themselves, and match the average cc#1 value throughout the sustains. It tends to work pretty well, and is not too difficult to implement.