• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Anyone using Vienna Instruments ?

Share/Bookmark

Anyone using Vienna Instruments ?

Greetings-
    Any giga users have experience with both the VSL horizon solo strings and teh new Vienna instruments SS?

The VI is a VST, (dongle required) and supposedly much more "player friendly"
    than VSL SS?

having tried neither I wonder if anyone has, and can draw a comparison,
    I currently use GS 3 orch and would like good solo strnigs with legato. I understand VSL is the KING at this, but I'm a newbie.

any input ?
    thanks
    PM

Re: Anyone using Vienna Instruments ?

There's a couple of thread here about Vienna Instrument, here is one:
    http://www.northernsounds.com/forum/...ad.php?t=44542
    do a search and you will most likely find the others...Also, you should ask on the VSL forum where there are lots of vsl user.

P.S. The Solo violin from VSL is amazing, i don't have it yet but... From what I've read V.I. seems to be the way to go.

Peter,

FWIW, I am using both Gigastudio 3.1 and VI on the same machine. This is driven by ProTools on another machine.

I got a downloadable VST wrapper to run the VI. It is possible to run Gigastudio as VST inside the wrapper, but by running GS standalone, both VI+Wrapper and GS get their own process space, and therefore each has is own memory limit, rather than cramming them into the same process and memory limit.

The only issue is that GS seems to want to be started first; if the VST wrapper is started first, then GS won't come up.

And yes, the VI tool is extremely powerful. After fooling around with it for 15 minutes, I got the "ahah!" moment. Going back to re-do some old tracks, I found myself _reducing_ the number of required MIDI channels. I expect that over time I will be using less and less GS, as sounds get replaced by VI.

--Dirk

hey thanks Dirk,