• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: A guaranteed job as a composer

Share/Bookmark

Cool A Guaranteed Job as a Composer

Hey everybody!

I'm no longer a hobbyist. I'm a professional composer! And I didn't have to move to Hollywood or sell my soul to get here. Here's the story:

I started a company with my son to make films for the Internet. He films and edits the movies. I compose the music and do the web programming.

The company is Poorly Projected Pictures.

We make action film parodies. You can see the films and hear my music at ColonelCrush.com

"But", you ask, "how do you make money?"

Here's what we do:
    * We stream the videos to PCs for free
    * We sell the videos for download to your portable media player for $1.98
    * We sell T-Shirts, based on our characters
    * We plan to sell compilation DVDs
    * We plan to sell short video ads to run before the streams
    * We have a forum about filmmaking and the Colonel Crush series, and will eventually sell ads. We will target video game and video equipment companies. (BTW, my username on the forum is "The Elder".)

We just went live on Saturday, and the site is solid. Now we're starting to promote it. We'll put the trailers on Google Video, iTunes and You Tube. We're confident that it will take off.

Here's the deal: Anybody who wants to compose for film could find some amateur filmmaker who wants to go pro and do the same thing.

I've read that highly targeted video ads are the top earning ads on the Internet. For instance, you could create an outdoor Web show about fishing and sell ads to boat makers and tackle companies. Or make snowboarding movies and sell ads to snowboard manufacturers and resorts.

Anyway, check out what we've done, come up with something even better and go for it! You don't have to look for a job. These days you can make one!

Re: A guaranteed job as a composer