• Register
  • Help

Topic: Using VST/Giga libraries live

Share/Bookmark

Using VST/Giga libraries live

Hey, everyone! I am new to the forum and could really use some help. (My question has quite a few parts, so I'll try to split it into two posts.) I am a composer and musical director for theater, so half of my work is in sequencing orchestrations in the studio (which are mostly orchestral, Broadway, or jazz band in style), and half of my work is using sample libraries in the orchestra pit live. Because of the combination of studio and live work that I do, my sequencing/sampling setup has been very basic until now and has mostly involved loading smaller sample libraries into the sample RAM of my keyboards (Kurz 2600s) and hardware samplers. But after hearing many of the libraries that have come out over the past two years, it is hard to settle for the older sample libraries. Still, reliability and latency are major issues in using a computer based system for sample playback. I have found a lot of info on setting up a system that is solely for studio work, but as I am about to go out on a year-long tour conducting a reduced orchestra, I would also like to find a way to use these new sample libraries live.