• Register
  • Help

Topic: Guitar intro: Solo or Accompanied?

Share/Bookmark

Guitar intro: Solo or Accompanied?

Hi all,

I've been working on an instrumental jazz album for the past several months.
    I'm mixing at home in Sonar, and while bored with saxes and guitars a couple of days ago, I decided to try my hand at creating an orchestral backdrop to a solo guitar intro for one of the tunes.

This is a quite conservative record, partly due to the conservative attitudes of my bandmates, one of whom has already expressed considerable disdain for what I've done. We did some non "jazzy" things in the studio like playing to a click, and isolating instruments during live tracking so tracks could be completely separate for purposes of overdubbing and editing (and of course, to make the mixing go smoother). We also used extensive micing on everything during dubbing to offer lots of flexibilty and opportunity for creating perspective with the stereo imaging on the instruments. Even these ways in which I used the tools at hand were greeted with a few groans, and it rots my socks. I'm more rock musician than jazz musician, and I feel no shame in bringing that side of my musical personality to a jazz production. I think it will make for a unique product that is "me". This record will definitely NOT sound overproduced (OK..maybe the orchestra bit will be....), but I still have to listen to groans.....