• Register
  • Help

Topic: So as a composer I have been pondering

Share/Bookmark

So as a composer I have been pondering

So as a composer I have been pondering the following question; What should we being listening to? There are many pieces of music; composers and performers that I love to listen to, but is everything I like to listen to something that I should be listening to as a composer, id est are there pieces (and performers) that we should listen to to make us better composers, to broaden our compositional thinking and our ears versus pieces that we listen to for musical pleasure (however you chose to define musical pleasure)?

That beginning said, what pieces and performers do you think one needs to listen to (and study) as part of a process of becoming a better composer? Or do all pieces and composers offer something that will help us grow as composers. Or should one shut one's self off from the musical world and only listen to the music in your head? Or is that the path of madness?

Ed
    //
    // Ars longa, vita brevis
    // http://edosbear.blogspot.com/
    //

Re: So as a composer I have been pondering

As a composer, I listen to... some of just about everything.

And that comment applies to both style and quality.

Different styles expand the pallet.

And you learn as much from great music [how to do it right] as you do from poor material [how not to do it at all].

That last may sound a bit peculiar; but knowing what does NOT work is as valuable as knowing what DOES.

David
    www.DavidSosnowski.com

I came to this question the other day in my own realization that I listen to just about everything, and tend to enjoy a great deal of pieces...too many to list here...all classical...

But what is really surprising is that I don't listen to everything I have regularly. I tend to pick up a small handfull of pieces and listen to them over and over, and I do this everyday. I play the same pieces and never seem to get tired of these.