• Register
  • Help

Topic: To tweak or Not to tweak

Share/Bookmark

To tweak or Not to tweak

I've read most of the threads about memory configurations and the need for tweaking to get the best performance.
    In my case I do everything on one computer; Video, Photoshop, internet, etc. With 1.5 gigs and no tweeking I have 39% available to load or 442 megs.
    My question is; since this is a multitasking computer should I leave well enough alone? I'm afraid tweaking might affect some of the other applications.

Thanks, Dave M.

Re: To tweak or Not to tweak

Tweaking could very easily affect the other applications, however you should just try and see; you can always put the registry back to the default afterwards.

D

Thanks for the reply. I thought this might be the case. Since I'm a beginner at all of this and I have GS3 and Sonar running perfectly (no crashes in a month) I'm going to leave it alone. I need to just practice putting arrangments together and working with midi for now.

Dave M

Yes, that might be a good start. Matthias is the memory king when it comes to Giga, so maybe he'll chime in here as well. I have recently found that by using quite a drastic memory tweak for GS it stopped me running more than one VSTi with FX-Teleport when GS wasn't even loaded. However, as soon as I reverted to Windows XP default there was no problem.

It may well be that with your system the best for you will be a small tweak for GS in order to load more samples, but not so much that Sonar will not run. You might also want to consider upping your RAM to 2Gb in order to be able to give as much as possible to both apps.

D

Quote Originally Posted by Daryl
    Yes, that might be a good start. Matthias is the memory king when it comes to Giga, so maybe he'll chime in here as well.
    Chime! FWIW, I think Daryls' advice sounds very reasonable.

And...to Daryl...confirming it works by removing the tweak just saved me some testing. I was just about to start.

/Mattias