• Register
  • Help

Topic: What's Best for Live Gigging

Share/Bookmark

What's Best for Live Gigging

Hi all. Since this is a Gigastudio forum, I can guess what the slant on this question will be but nonetheless, I am very interested in opinions. I am new to the whole 'music on a PC' thing, although I am very technology competent. I bought a killer PC and Gigastudio 3 Orchestra and a number of very good sample libraries. Due to personal reasons, I have not a lot of time to get going with this new technology. But I have been reading a little lately and I started wondering if the use of virtual instruments might not be better suited to live gigging than sampling software. Anybody want to share opinions or personal experience with live gigging. Thanks ........ Rob

Re: What's Best for Live Gigging

IMHO Giga is much better than VIs for live gigging. Here are some of the reasons:

1) Giga is very efficient in terms of poly and memory use
    2) Giga has a great note stealing algorithm for when you've held the sustain pedal too long.
    3) Once Giga has been properly set up on solid hardware, it's very stable.
    4) A single interface can handle all of your sounds. With VIs you'd be working with a different UI for every group of patches.
    5) Stacking: you can combine various instruments and setup custom keyswitches - even if the sounds are from different developers
    6) Program changes: Giga handles bank and program changes, so you can make major changes from your MIDI controller.

I've used Giga in casual live performances. My recommendation is to keep things simple, keep things organized and do your homework up front. Given that, Giga is ideal for live use. Working with different UIs, having a DAW host in the loop and not being able to easily combine and switch between the sounds of different developers would be serious disadvantages.

Maybe there are advantages to using VIs live. I can't think of any.

-JF

Quote Originally Posted by JonFairhurst