• Register
  • Help

Topic: What's best for live performance

Share/Bookmark

What's best for live performance

Hi all. Since this is a virtual instrument forum, I can guess what the slant on this question will be but nonetheless, I am very interested in opinions. I am new to the whole 'music on a PC' thing, although I am very technology competent. I bought a killer PC and Gigastudio 3 Orchestra and a number of very good sample libraries. Due to personal reasons, I have not a lot of time to get going with this new technology. But I have been reading a little lately and I started wondering if the use of virtual instruments might not be better suited to live gigging than sampling software. Anybody want to share opinions or personal experience with live gigging. Thanks ........ Rob

Re: What's best for live performance

Hi,

I would highly recommend Steinberg's Hypersonic 2 for live performance.
    It runs standalone as well as a vsti. The sounds are very good, fast loading, CPU efficient, etc. It has all the bread and butter sounds that you would get with a hardware synth such as a Yamaha Motif or Korg Triton.

Ron

Oh, man. I don't want to get into a copy protection fight on this thread, but I have to say that if it's Steinberg I assume it now uses a dongle, and while I'm against dongles in the studio for technical reasons, I'm totally opposed to using one on the gig. It's far too easy for it to get damaged, and it's not built to stand the kind of treatment the road gives equipment.

End of dongle discussion, I had to say it because of the previous post, noting personal. Rsarja, if you want to respond to that statement, I think it's only fair to take it to a different thread so as to not hijack this one. (And if the program is older and does not use a dongle - never mind...) After I post this, I'll start a new thread on this topic.