• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: New to Sampling – Overwhelmed by Choices – Need Help

Share/Bookmark

New to Sampling – Overwhelmed by Choices – Need Help

I’m glad I found this site because I’ve been browsing a lot of the threads and visited members’ sites and I find that you guys know what you’re talking about and you’re creating the sounds that I’m looking to create.

As my title indicates, I’m new to sampling and looking to make a purchase for use with Logic 7 Pro. I’ve listened to a lot of sample libraries but the problem I run into is that the demos, for the most part, always sound good (which is the point from a sales perspective). I’m not naive enough to believe that by just purchasing a library I can extract that kind of sound from the tool ... at least without further research.

I, like many, like the “film score” sound and that’s what I’m looking to create. So I need a vast orchestral library, pianos, percussion, electronic sounds, etc… I’d also like these libraries to be easy to use (I don’t know if that’s wishful thinking) and priced well. I’m not a professional so I don’t need the best of the best, but I have a good ear so I’m not willing to pay for something that won’t sound good.

On my list so far of possibilities are the following (I’m new to sampling so forgive me if I’ve totally missed the most obvious choice from the market):

Vienna Horizon Series Opus 1 & 2, Epic Horns
    EWQL Stormdrum
    Synthology Ivory
    Spectronics Symphony of Voices

My concern lies mostly with the purchase of my orchestral libraries since they require the most technology in order to get a good performance.

Again, I’m looking for compatibility with Logic 7, ease of use, good price, great sound or a wake up call letting me know that what I’m looking for doesn’t exist.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
    Eric

Re: New to Sampling – Overwhelmed by Choices – Need Help

Hi Eric.