• Register
  • Help

Topic: Discovering compostion simplicity

Share/Bookmark

Discovering compostion simplicity

I'm pretty new to this world of computer music and have zero musical training. What I do have is a good ear for music and have been playing pianos since I was 6 by ear. When putting multiple tracks of instruments together my songs would get busier and busier until they became intolerable.
    Yesterday I downloaded a Midi song file of David Grusen's "On Golden Pond" and then assigned my Bos. 290 and KHSO to the different tracks. The result was quite beautiful. What really blew me away was the utter simplicity of the different tracks when soloed. This is something I keep rediscovering. KEEP IT SIMPLE!

I Love this stuff, Dave

Re: Discovering compostion simplicity

Quote Originally Posted by commalot
    I'm pretty new to this world of computer music and have zero musical training. What I do have is a good ear for music and have been playing pianos since I was 6 by ear. When putting multiple tracks of instruments together my songs would get busier and busier until they became intolerable.
    Yesterday I downloaded a Midi song file of David Grusen's "On Golden Pond" and then assigned my Bos. 290 and KHSO to the different tracks. The result was quite beautiful. What really blew me away was the utter simplicity of the different tracks when soloed. This is something I keep rediscovering. KEEP IT SIMPLE!

I Love this stuff, Dave
    Lol. Stick with it Dave, a lot of enjoyment to come. And you don't get paid by the number of notes you write, but how it sounds, so if simple works, write simple.

Alex.

Thank you Alex. I'm also reminded of what a professor told me once in a Music Appreciation class. "The silences between the notes are as important as the notes themselves".

Dave

Thank you Alex. I'm also reminded of what a professor told me once in a Music Appreciation class. "The silences between the notes are as important as the notes themselves".

Dave